Books are a pretty big thing in my family. Ever since I can remember my mum had stacks of books on her nightstand. So did Dad and my two older sisters. I vividly remember how once in a while the nightstands became empty and cleared of a stack (by stack I mean about 7+ books. I’m seiously not joking.). But then slowly the stack would reappear. And then that stack would dissapear and so on and so on…If you’re wondering this cycle still hasn’t stopped.

So you’re probably thinking – well? Is that it? Is she going to continue talking about stacks? Actually I have no clue what you’re thinking. And come to think of it – I doubt you were thinking that.
Anyway, books are a kind of tradition in my family. I remember how my oldest sister read to me, Mum and my other sister. Actually Mum was the one who started it, but then she got sick one time and told my sister to read to us that night and I guess they never switched places again. 

One of the many things I love about my family is that when I was little they never took books away from me just because they were “too hard to understand” or “not a children’s book” etc. I could take anything I wanted from the shelves – from comic books to Jane Austen or Curious George to Dickens. Ok, so maybe I opened a copy of Pride & Prejudice when I was 6 and I didn’t really understand much (although I had seen the TV series with Colin Firth) but it definitely had an impact on me – in a good way.

Anyway, as I was saying – my sister used to read to us out loud. I remember when she read Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens to us. I probably was about 7 or 8 years old. I freakin’ loved that book. I remember feeling the character’s heartbreak and emotions ( I don’t want to give too much away for those who haven’t read it). Then she read Jane Austen to us, P.G. Wodehouse always was a favourite. Oh, and then came the one book that I absoloutly loved. Minding Frankie by Maeve Binchy. Again – I probably was about 9 or 10when she read this to us. But I just loved it. You know that feeling when you finish reading a book and you want to see the movie but it turns out that there’s no movie? Well – this that kind of a book. I still remember how my sister used to skip some sentences that had rude words in them to keep me safe from any ruddy, muddy swear words. Well, let’s just say that it didn’t work out quite as expected. In any case, every time my older sister comes to visit us she reads something to us aloud. Over the years it has become a sort of tradition – I love it.

As you might have noticed – I’ve read a fair share of books. So I thought I’d gather write down a shortened list of authors and books that have been read to me or that I have read.

Charles Dickens:

  • A Tale of Two Cities
  • A Christmas Carol
  • David Copperfield
  • Great Expectations 

Jane Austen

  • All of them except Lady Susan (haven’t finished it yet)

Stella Gibbons

  • Cold Comfort Farm

P.G. Wodehouse

  • I can’t remember the titles of all of them (they all were good)

James Herriot / Alfred Wight

  • All of them

Maeve Binchy

  • A Week in Winter
  • Tara Road
  • Minding Frankie
  • Heart and Soul (reading it now)

Barbara Pym

  • I started a few but never got around to finishing them – I quite like them

J.K. Rowling

  • The Hary Potter Series

Dorothy L. Sayers

  • Strong Poison
  • The Unpleasentness at the Bellona Club

Alexander McCall Smith

  • Some of The No. 1 Ladies’  Detective Agency

Jojo Moyes

  • Me Before You
  • After You

The Brönte Sisters

  • Jane Eyre
  • Wuthering Heights
  • Agnes Grey

Anthony Trollope

  • The Chronicles of Barsetshire

Elizabeth Gaskell

  • North & South

E.M. Forster

  • A Room with a View
  • Howards End

    I haven’t written down all of the books and authors because obviously that would take up too much time. If you know any books or authors that I might enjoy please comment down below. If you haven’t read any of these I highly recommend you do so.

    wishing that a stack of lovely books appears on your nightstand,

    elizabeth

